Fake 'look-a-like' web sites built to fool you

Don't be tricked into giving out your personal details

Mass e-mail scams that try to trick you into giving out your credit card number are on the rise.

The e-mails and web addresses they ask you to visit are so perfect, only a professional webmaster would be able to tell the difference.

Scams reported so far include Pay Pal and Barclays Bank. You may receive an e-mail like this;

Please verify your information today!

Dear Paypal Member.
Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account and to ensure a safe Paypal experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us. To verify your information, click here and enter the details requested. After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account.

Thank you for using PayPal!
............................................................................
Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.

It's looks so real
The e-mail looks extremely accurate and is very convincing, but why would PayPal or any organization who you have registered with ask you to confirm details they hold about you? You really need to think about that question! The answer is they wouldn't, so don't get caught out.

Can you tell the difference?
The web address used in this case directs you to this address;
http://www.paypal.com/@211.113.186.42/pp/processing.htm

But the real website is this address;
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_home

Can you tell the difference? The fake site is hosted on this server;
http://211.113.186.42/

Whois Search Results for this Nameserver:
Server Name: NS.CJMOIM.NET
IP Address: 211.113.186.42
Registrar: GABIA, INC.
Whois Server: whois.name7.com
Referral URL: http://www.name7.com

Until there's no trace!
The fake web address is extremely clever. Once your on the site even the links within the site 'appear' to be the same as the real site. But if you complete your details someone else will be accessing your account and clearing out your funds, depositing and withdrawing it in and out of accounts until there's no trace.

Even the source code appears to be the same the only difference I could find was that the real sites title is www.paypal[1] and the fake is processing[1]

So the warning is, be very alert!

free cooking recipes